End of Federal Government Shutdown Restores Waterfowl Hunting Opportunities at National Wildlife Areas in California

Media Contacts:
Brad Burkholder, CDFW Wildlife Branch, (916) 445-1829
Glenn Underwood, CDFW License and Revenue Branch, (916) 928-5841
Kyle Orr, CDFW Communications, (916) 322-8958

The resolution of the federal government shutdown Thursday will restore waterfowl hunting opportunities at National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) in California. State Wildlife Areas were unaffected by the shutdown and remain open to hunting during the regular waterfowl seasons.

All NWRs had been closed during the federal government shutdown, including those designated as Type A areas for which the state draws reservations and operates the check stations. The following NWRs have confirmed that they will open by Saturday. For more information, hunters can contact the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service or call the refuge they wish to visit.

• Colusa NWR, (530) 934-2801
• Delevan NWR, (530) 934-2801
• Kern NWR, (661) 725-6504
• Merced NWR, (209) 826-3508
• Sacramento NWR, (530) 934-2801
• San Luis NWR, (including Kesterson, Bear Creek, Freitas North), (209) 826-3508
• Sonny Bono Salton Sea NWR, (760) 348-5278
• Lower Klamath NWR, (530) 667-2231
• Tule Lake NWR, (530) 667-2231
• Modoc NWR, (530) 233-3572
• Don Edwards San Francisco Bay NWR, (510) 792-0222

The South Freitas Unit of San Luis NWR is closed due to road construction at its boat launch site. The Department of Transportation project is scheduled to be completed and the unit to be opened by Oct. 26. Hunters can call the refuge at (209) 826-0463 to confirm its reopening before leaving on a hunting trip.

The below Type A and B State Wildlife Areas (and all Type C wildlife areas that permit waterfowl hunting) are open for waterfowl hunting. A few of the wildlife areas below are located in waterfowl hunting zones which opened on Oct. 5. Most are scheduled to open Saturday, Oct. 19, when the rest of the state opens for waterfowl hunting.

• Gray Lodge Wildlife Area (Type A)
• Grizzly Island Wildlife Area (Type A and Type B Units)
• Los Banos Wildlife Area (Type A)
• Mendota Wildlife Area (Type A)
• North Grasslands Wildlife Area (Including China Island, Salt Slough and Gadwall Units) (Type A)
• San Jacinto Wildlife Area (Type A)
• Upper Butte Basin Wildlife Area (Including Little Dry Creek, Howard Slough and Llano Seco Units) (Type A)
• Volta Wildlife Area (Type A)
• Wister Unit of Imperial Wildlife Area (Type A)
• Yolo Bypass Wildlife Area (Type A)
• Ash Creek Wildlife Area (Type B)
• Butte Valley Wildlife Area (Type B)
• Honey Lake Wildlife Area (Fleming and Dakin Units) (Type B)
• Shasta Valley Wildlife Area (Type B)
• Willow Creek Wildlife Area (Type B)

The California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) has posted a Frequently Asked Questions page on its website at https://nrm.dfg.ca.gov/FileHandler.ashx?DocumentID=73964&inline=1.
For further information, please visit CDFW’s website at http://www.wildlife.ca.gov.